When having a boy – Must I get him CIRCUMCISED??!!

Having a son means, he must get his foreskin removed.

Circumcision -‘foreskin is the hood of the skin covering the penis, which can gently be pulled back.’

Is your son circumcised?

This can be a very controversial topic, as it is mainly done for three reasons: religion, hygiene or medical.

Many people have a strong opinion about the topic, when they don’t know what the benefits are.
Here is why it’s a good idea to have the penis circumcised according to NHS (National Health Service).
Please click on the link.
nhs.ukhttp://www.nhs.uk/Conditions/Circumcision/Pages/Advantages-and-disadvantages.aspx
In my case not only do I personally agree with the pros, I agree that foreskin should be removed.
My son had his foreskin removed when he was 2 weeks old, by a registered GMC (General Medical Council ) doctor.

The process has 3 simple steps

1- Book Doctors appointment

Under the NHS, the circumcision is NOT free unless it is done for a medical reason. Non NHS service can range from as little as £100 to £1000+ (Depending on age, private healthcare or service package.)

Where should I go?
You can ask at the hospital you gave birth at, or ask family&friends if they can recommend anyone or ask your GP. I was recommended to see a GP, who has a circumcision clinic on Saturdays. I was happy with my decision because I knew someone who had already been their.

2- Getting the circumcision done

The process of getting the foreskin removed is straight forward and is left to the medical profession ONLY. So, all I did was watch over in anticipation until it was all done.

How is it performed

A little anaesthetic is given, then to remove the foreskin the doctor uses a scalpel, scissor or a surgical clamp. In my case my son had a ‘ring’ attached around to his ‘manhood’ before the skin was removed. So once done, we just needed it to heal and wait for the ring to slide off. Tip – Put Vaseline directly onto the ring and everytime you change the nappy re-apply. Before you know it the ring will slid off.

IMG_0823.JPG

3- Recovery

After it was done, I gave my son some paracetamol (Calpol) as he had a little temperature, soreness, redness and was little swollen. I was advised to place his penis down when placing the nappy on, as it would rub against his penis (glans). All of the above are normal symptoms BUT if any bleeding, long term swelling or problems passing urine occur get medical assistance fast.

What are your views on this topic? Do think it is clean to leave it on? Would you ever get your son circumcised ? 

If you have an opinion on this topic please comment.

Thanks for reading,

SophieMoti x

150 thoughts on “When having a boy – Must I get him CIRCUMCISED??!!

  1. I too am in the UK and was only circumcised later in life. I wish my mother had got me circumcised when I was born. Many years later I discovered that she wanted to circumcise me but my father who was uncircumcised would not agree.

    I think where there are two parents in the life of the boy and they cannot agree it’s something that they should leave to the child to decide for themselves when older.

    However, I really think it would be better for the NHS to offer circumcision (for a nominal fee) by default and avoid stigmatising whichever choice parents may make.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. When I was at school in the 60’s there were on average between 15 – 20% of the boys circumcised. I don’t recall them being teased for being circumcised, it was just accepted and probably not even really understood why some were different. Is it any different now?

        I asked my mother about it at some point and she explained that some boys were circumcised, so I did know about it. She told me that it was common among Jews and Muslims but not limited to them and was also sometimes done for medical reasons.

        It was not till very many years later she told me she’d wanted me to be circumcised; it was actually only after I told her I’d been circumcised. I was quite apprehensive about telling her I’d been circumcised by choice, since I had no idea she was in favour of it, I thought she might be disapproving, but she was pleased at my choice.

        Take care and thanks for replying.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Hello Sophie, I have found reading this thread very interesting.
    I never really knew much about circumcision until I met my husband, who one day announced that he had always wished he had been circumcised and eventually arranged to have it done privately. Since he had it done, he has said it is much more comfortable being circumcised and that it feels cleaner.
    We haven’t really talked much about my husband’s preference for being circumcised, but when it came to my first son being born, I remember seeing on the labour ward some leaflet about the availability of a circumcision service for newborn baby boys. I asked my husband if, based on his own preference, he thought it would be a good idea getting our son Henry circumcised. My husband hadn’t really thought about it before, but after some further thought and discussion about the pros and cons, we decided to have Henry circumcised when he was a month old.
    The procedure itself was very quick, and to my relief, it didn’t seem to be too painful. Like your son, Henry had a Plastibell circumcision, which I think is a good method. When it fell off after about a week, it left a very neat little scar which has faded over time. The overall cosmetic result has always looked very good, and looking back, I’m pleased I had Henry circumcised like his dad is.

    Now I’m pregnant with another boy on the way, and I think I’ll get him circumcised as well. It seems logical for the two boys both to be done.

    I have had some negative comments from other people about circumcision, but I tend to just let them have their say and state that in our family it’s a personal matter and a personal preference and just leave it at that.
    I even remember my GP commenting negatively about circumcision when she noticed once that Henry had been circumcised. I subsequently changed GPs, but I have noticed since then, when looking over a nurse’s shoulder that the word “Circumcised” appears on Henry’s medical record.

    With my next boy, I won’t plan on mentioning it to my GP that I plan on circumcising, I’ll just go ahead and arrange it privately. But it’ll be interesting if my next son’s circumcision status somehow makes it onto his medical record.

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Hi Rachel, firstly congratulations on your second pregnancy. Ha it’s funny you noticed that they wrote it down on the records, I noticed the same thing on my sons. I guess it’s just their procedure to write everything down. I wouldn’t take any offence. Yes, many doctors wouldn’t like to recommend circumcision at first until they see a problem. It’s a shame, that they wouldn’t want to educate us and help us prevent our children from getting an infection in the future . Best of luck on your second circumcision and the birth of your son. Enjoy every moment, as I myself have just given birth recently. This time round I was blessed with a girl, so no circumcision issues here to deal with . 👍🏻 😍 Love Sophie 😍

      Like

      1. Many congratulations, Sophie, on the birth of your daughter!
        Having one of each will surely bring you a rich and varied experience as a parent. Good luck with everything!

        Liked by 2 people

  3. Hi Rachel, congratulations on things working out so well. And congratulations Sophie on your new arrival.
    Sorry to get to the point Rachel, but as an adult considering circumcision, I am a scardeycat, and you seem to gloss over your husband’s operation. How bad was it? How happy is he now? Sorry, but I am a real chicken about this, but I must go through with it. I need encouragement.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Hi Barry,

      It all went fine for my husband. Stories that you read about, that it is very painful to have a circumcision as an adult didn’t seem to apply in my husband’s case. It was somewhat uncomfortable for a day or two and took about three weeks or more to heal, so much longer than the one week that is typical for newborn circs. Cosmetically, the outcome was fine, and my husband and I prefer the way it is now. He has said that some sensitivity has diminished, but not in a way that makes sex any less pleasurable. In other words, I guess lubricated sensitivity still exists.
      I can understand that for an adult, getting circumcised is a big step to take as it is an irreversible step from something that you are familiar with, to something less familiar. But my husband is perfectly happy with his circumcision and prefers it to how it was before.

      What are your reasons for wanting to get circumcised?

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Hi Rachel, thanks for your prompt and encouraging reply. Just what I was hoping for!
        Why do I want the snip? Partly a sad reason, which is that my partner want me done , but she had a long-term illness and is no longer with us. It was a blessing, as she was unable to annoy life and passed away five years ago. I feel like I’m doing it for her.
        Life goes on, and she would want me to be happy, so I’m seeking a new relationship. I know many (most?) Women don’t really care if their man is snipped, but it will give me confidence to know all is good ‘down there’. TMI, but I always wear mine pulled back so any lost sensitivity has already occurred. Now ifs just a matter of plucking up the courage to take the plunge, as your brave husband has done. You and Sophie have helped me a bunch! Thanks again.

        Like

  4. Whoops! I hate predictive text. I mean my partner wanted, unable to enjoy life, not annoy it! That’ll make laugh up there. 🙂

    Like

  5. Hello Rachel and Sophie,
    Thanks for all you’ve said. I appreciate this isn’t a rude website. So I am reluctant to be too explicit. Thanks both of you for encouraging me to be circumcised. I can tell you why, an adult, I need the snip, if you ask, I will happily reply. I’m crying with happy tears. Thanks. Love you.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Hi Sophie, I read this with some degree of surprise. As someone that is circumcised I can’t think of one single reason that has been scientifically or medically proved to not be circumcised. At the same time there have been lots of studies on health risks of foreskin.
    Why can’t we all just accept that circumcised is best?
    Do we all agree???
    The sooner we stop debating whether we should have foreskin or not the sooner we can start concerning ourselves with real issues like why NHS does not routinely provide circumcision free of charge.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. It’s so nice to read all positive post about a subject that can be heated. Thanks all!

    My ex husband got circumcised as and adult after we saw a circumcised guy at the nude beach. We did a lot of research and we both liked it afterwards. When our son was born my husband didn’t want our son to be done, thought he should decide for himself, when older. But when we divorced I thought it was a good time to do and our son was done at 12. He had no pain at all and he got that cosmetic result that we wanted (we are nudists).

    We have got some questions about it and can only say positive words.

    Anna

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Last summer my partner and another couple spent a week at River Island, a nudist camp here in Australia. While of us are circumcised, my friends partner, who is Irish born was surprised to learn that so many men here in Australia are circumcised, something she vary much approved of not just for the health benefits but also as she said, they simply look sexier, can’t disagree.

      Like

  8. Thank you for agreeing Sophie, I knew you would!
    How would you like circumcision to be promoted in the UK?
    My thoughts are:
    1) Free on NHS at birth and at any age (child or adult) you should decide to do it
    2) Media campaign using TV, radio, print advertising and social media
    3) Celebrity endorsements – maybe even convince a male celeb to do and get Hello to cover how simple it is and how happy him and his family are afterwards. Maybe David Beckham would be up for it?
    I’d be interested to know what you think of these ideas and if you have any others. They may seem a bit far fetched but I think once the ball is rolling it could really gather momentum.

    Like

      1. What ways do you think it could be encouraged/promoted? It seems us parents like circumcision so why aren’t more boys having it done?

        Like

  9. Brendan, for me living in a non-circ country I think it’s just to be as positive as possible when the subjuct is discussed, then I’ve noticed that several are interested. But people that are only negative and think it’s wrong, then I don’t want to fight.

    Like

  10. It’s better for a boy to be circumcised at birth for healthy development. That way he won’t have to go through the awkward process of the foreskin adhesion separating, have to get circumcised later in life for whatever reason, or get any foreskin problems and it lowers the risk of contracting infections with lifelong hygiene benefits. There are benefits for his self esteem and success with girls too. It looks better cosmetically with improved function and he should be proud of not having an anteater even if other boys are uncut. There are some girls that want nothing to do with an uncut guy and they’re not afraid to be vocal about their disgust, and parents fighting on whether to do it at some point beyond infancy can be more damaging than the procedure itself. I think intactivist parents are doing their sons a disservice, especially when it’s been proven that there’s no significant difference in sensation. Dental work or a girl getting her ears pierced can be a lot worse than an infant circumcision but there is no movement for intact ears. Yes, boys should be circumcised.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Hi Sophie,
    How refreshing to read all the comments about circumcision from parents who care about their sons welfare. I am not cut and my wife is now asking me to have the procedure for her own reasons, mainly less chance of infection but also for cosmetic appearance as she finally admitted she really loves a circumcised penis. I will let you know how it goes.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

