Where did he go? 

There comes a time in life, when we have to talk to our toddlers about more than the colour of the crayon that they are holding.

I didn’t realise I would be doing this so soon. I actually didn’t know where to start and if he would take it well. Or what kind of question he would through back at me. But I guess it has to be done. 

I have always explained everything to him from why he was sitting in the naughty corner, to why the man in street is walking with a guide dog.

I’m writing this blog because it’s an experience I have recently experienced, with my 2.5 year old son and I have the feeling that many parents dread the big conversion. 

Where did he go? 

We visited him regularly, sometimes he was sleeping and sometimes he would try and talk to us. It all sounded unclear but all my son knew was everytime he would visit, the old man in the chair would give him £1 to buy sweeties. 

Until one day there was NO £1 present.

We had to tell my son, that the old man who he would visited everyday had died. 

I had to think of what I would say.

‘Special people go heaven and because he wasn’t well he went. God called him.’

He paused. ‘Mama is he not there anymore?’

The realisation of the ill man, no longer there was settling in. 

A cuddle, smile and confirmation was all my toddler needed.

I didn’t think, I would have to explain someone passing to my son at such a young age. 

I guess we must always remember, to  understand something has no age and my toddler totally showed us this.

Explaining and talking about issues can be difficult, but it’s better to talk about it then having confused child and feeling like they have no one to talk too.

We show our children when a baby is born and sometimes we have to tell our children when some passes away. 

The circle of life.

Let me know if you have been in this situation. How did you tell your child(ren) ?
Please comment, share and like.

Love SophieMoti x  

 

Leave a Reply

